Scarce City logo

#45977 | COUNTERSOUL #5

Winning Bid

The Sophisticant

1M sats


Auth code will arrive by email and can take up to 10 minutes.

Install the Ordinals Wallet to generate a receive address. Bitcoin Core is required. Watch the tutorial here.


The Sophisticant
March 16, 2023 3:40:31 PM UTC

1,000,000 sats

0.01 BTC

b x
March 16, 2023 5:23:06 AM UTC

500,000 sats

0.005 BTC

March 15, 2023 2:00:03 PM UTC

100,000 sats

0.001 BTC

This auction is for COUNTERSOUL #5. There are 25 editions in total, the first three editions were sold in the previous Scarce City Auction.

COUNTERSOUL is a real-time, generative music & visual performance of the Bitcoin blockchain. Its development began in late 2021, and completed in January 2023 and is the first generative musical composition inscribed on Bitcoin.

COUNTERSOUL brings the fundamentals of the Bitcoin blockchain into a generative (forever different and changing) musical system. COUNTERSOUL's algorithmic base continually generates all aspects of music and visual elements in real time based on the current block height number of the Bitcoin blockchain as it's sole input.

The code uses a single block height API call to drive the entire work, which remains easily interchangable by the user to ensure the work remains operational forever. The block height value is converted to a Hex color code and is used to determine the main colour featured in the work at any time.

Blocks are continually added to the bitcoin blockchain, so COUNTERSOUL evolves as this proceeds. The frequency of changes to the block height is unpredictable, but on average a block is added approximately every 10 minutes. In addition, COUNTERSOUL responds in different ways to special block height numbers and events such as the mining difficulty adjustments, halvenings etc. and is programmed to continue doing this into the future.

The sounds produced in COUNTERSOUL are custom virtual synthesizers, which are passed through effects for additional spaciousness and ambience, utilizing delays (echoes) and reverberation which are built from scratch in the code.

When the work first loads it is silent, clicking anywhere on the screen (or pressing 'm') will start (or pause) the music.

- Press 'f' to toggle full screen.
- Press 'p' for a .png screenshot (browser may ask for permissions).
- Press 'h' to pause the visuals.


There are 25 COUNTERSOUL editions in the collection. Every COUNTERSOUL is made unique with an edition ID # in the code.
3x editions will be held by the three members of Music Non Stop with 1x held in reserve. The remaining 21 are released for sale to the public.

This Lot Includes:


  • 1 of 1


Join us & the inscribooors to chat Ordinals on Twitter Spaces.

Join the Ord City Discord server for auction updates, commentary, and sat giveaways.

Submit your Ordinal Inscription to be considered for auction here or list for a fixed price in our Inscription marketplace here.

Subscribe to our newsletter 💡

Join our mailing list to receive product drop and blog updates